Undo accidental “Move to Trash”

Amazon is now an Authorized Apple Reseller!. Current models, older models, refurbished models-- check it out.
Use this link (note: sales via this link may generate a commission to Christian Boyce, from Amazon.


You know that ⌘-Delete will send a file or folder to the Trash. But what if you want to put the thing back? If you act quickly, you can go to the Edit menu and do “Undo Move” (or ⌘-Z). If you don’t move quickly, just go to the Trash, click on the file or folder, then go to File/Put Away. Somehow the Finder knows where the file or folder came from. Neat. I would practice this now, before you need it.

This is the Finder’s File menu.

Screen Shot 2015-03-12 at 8.38.45 AM

Did this article help you?

Maybe you'd like to contribute to the
Christian Boyce coffee fund.

Want some longer how-tos?
Visit me at christianboyce.com.

Looking for quick tips about iPhones?
See my iPhone In a Minute website.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: