Pay attention when you Restart or Shutdown your Mac



When you restart your Mac via the Apple menu/Restart (or shutdown your Mac via Apple menu/Shutdown) you’ll get a box looking something like this:

Reopen windows when logging in

Pay attention to that “Reopen windows when logging back in” checkbox. My advice: uncheck it. That gives you a nice fresh start. If you leave the box checked ALL of the stuff you had open before choosing Restart opens right back up again, and that’s probably not what you want. Most of the time, we restart because we are trying to get a nice fresh start. Unchecking the box will give you what you want.

Of course there are times when the checkbox should be checked. Let’s say you’re working on a bunch of documents at home, and now you’re going to take your laptop to work and you want to pick things up again when you get there. In that case, shutting down with┬áthe checkbox checked would get you back in business more quickly next time you start up. Or maybe you want to restart because you’ve installed some sort of update that requires it, or you’ve run Malwarebytes and it says you should restart. In those cases it would be nice to come right back to where you were.



Did this article help you?

Maybe you'd like to contribute to the
Christian Boyce coffee fund.

Want some longer how-tos?
Visit me at christianboyce.com.

Looking for quick tips about iPhones?
See my iPhone In a Minute website.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Up ↑